I’ve mentioned before that I am a flexitarian so since this is my first recipe post, I think I should explain what I mean by that.
Screen Shot 2012-12-16 at 3.52.00 PM
While I do occasionally have meat, I eat almost a strictly vegetarian (and often vegan) diet. Only, there is no judgement or guilt when I do have the occasional piece of meat because that occasional meat is built into what I have declared my acceptable dietary lifestyle. Flexitarian.

Now, I will probably only ever share vegetarian/vegan recipes. Mainly because that is what I make. We save meat for the occasions where we are eating at other peoples houses mostly. But also, there are plenty of meat recipes out there! You don’t need me for that. (Not that you *need* vegetarian recipes from me either) but meat is certainly easier to find good recipes for than vegetarian meals are.

Tonight I made Taco soup! YUM! It’s seriously delicious. I was just chowing down on it before I cam over to post this recipe before I forget what on earth I threw in the pot.

Ingredients-
2 Cans of black beans (or the equivalent of dry beans)
1/4 cup brown lentils
1/4 cup red lentils
32 oz’s of Veggie brothIMG_2451 (can use more  in case too much broth cooks off)
6 tomatoes (split into 2 piles of 3)
3-5 onions (depending on onion size and how much you like onion)
Cilantro
avocado
shredded cheddar cheese (or a vegan equivalent)
Taco seasoning (I use This Recipe. feel free to use any recipe you prefer or a seasoning pack if that’s your preference)

1) Pour broth into pot with 3 of the tomatoes (chopped up) and all the onion (chopped)

2) Chop other 3 tomatoes and put in blender with about 1/4 cup of chopped cilantro. Blend and add to pot. Stir well

3) Add beans, lentils and seasoning (at least 1 1/2 tablespoons. I very much do this to taste and continue to taste and add all throughout cooking process)

4) Let simmer with lid on it for an hour/until lentils are cooked

5) When ready to serve, add cheese, more chopped cilantro and slices of avocado to the top of each bowl. Serve with Tortilla chips.

IMG_2457IMG_2453

